This page is also available in : English

Also known as Eptanisa (Seven Islands), including Corfu (Kerkira), Lefkada, Ithaki, Zakinthos (Zante), Kefalonia…

The seven are, from north to south (In the parentheses are written the Italian names of the islands):

Corfu, the most populated island of the group. It is famous for the architecture of its capital.
Lefkada (Santa Maura), the island is associated with the myth of Sappho. It’s most famous beach is the Porto Katsiki Beach.
Ithaki (Val di Compare) , the island is mostly known as the home of Odysseus.
Kefallonia (Cefalonia), the biggest island of the group. It is famous for its beaches and especially for Myrtos Beach.
Zakinthos (Zante), it is famous for the endangered species of the sea turtle Caretta-Caretta and the Navagio Beach.
Kythira (Cerigo)

Western Greek Islands or Ionian Islands refers to the chain of Greek Islands stretching along the west coast of Greece in the Ionian Sea. Due to historical facts the isolated islands of Kithera and Antikythera, south of the Peloponnese, are here included in this group. These islands are traditionally called the Heptanese, i.e. “the Seven Islands” in Greek, but the group includes many smaller islands as well as the seven principal ones. The islands are well known for their beautiful sandy beaches, crystal clear waters, architecture, charming villages and stunning scenic countryside which is verdant and flourishing with greenery and nature. Each Ionian island has a distinct character. The islands are also known by their Italian names. These islands are known to be covered with green unlike the Cyclades, which is due to rareness of rain. Historically, these islands had a common fate, especially the three major islands of Corfu, Cefalonia and Zante.